Sustainability categories

The three Dezeen Awards sustainability categories reward excellence that make positive environmental and social contributions.

These awards will go to projects that strive to reduce their impact on people and planet.

These awards will be assessed by a specially selected jury of sustainability experts from the world of architecture and design. 

Sustainable building

Any building designed with sustainability in mind including zero-carbon or negative-carbon projects, zero-energy projects, circular projects, reversible buildings or buildings that employ environmentally friendly construction techniques, materials, energy sources etc.

Sustainable interior

Any interior designed with sustainability in mind including projects that use ethically sourced products, make use of recycled materials, use innovative materials etc.

Sustainable design

Any product designed with sustainability in mind including products that follow circular principles or that reduce their impact on (or benefit) the environment.

See details of all 47 categories in Dezeen Awards 2022 ›