Dezeen Magazine

2010 RIBA Award winners announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects in London have announced 102 winners of this year's RIBA Awards, including projects by Rick Mather Architects, Heatherwick Studio and Caruso St John Architects.

Top: Snowdon Summit, Wales, Ray Hole Architects. Photo is by Aneurin Phillips.
Above: Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, Rick Mather Architects. Photo is by Andy Matthews.

The winners include 93 projects in the UK and nine from the EU.

Above: Creative Business Units, Aberystwyth, Heatherwick Studio. Photo is by Edmund Sumner.

The shortlist for the Stirling Prize will be drawn from these winners.

Above: Infinity Bridge, Teesdale, Spence Associates. Photo is by Morley von Steinburg.

Here's some more information from the RIBA, followed by the full list of winning projects:

2010 RIBA Award Winners Announced


The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 RIBA Awards. RIBA Awards for architectural excellence will be presented to 102 buildings in the UK and Europe (93 in the UK and nine in the rest of the EU).

Above: Nottingham Contemporary, Caruso St John Architects. Photograph is by Helene Binet.

The award-winning buildings range from a small circular loo for bus drivers in London to the Neues Museum in Berlin, from a zero-carbon house to the energy substation for the 2012 Olympics.

Above: Balnearn Boathouse, Tayside, McKenzie Strickland Assocs. Photo is by Keith Hunter.

The high arts have done well with galleries, museums, theatres and auditoriums winning many awards (including the Ashmolean Musuem, Nottingham Contemporary and Aldeburgh Music Campus). Education buildings have also flourished with 17 of the 93 UK awards going to schools and universities.

Above: Regents Place Pavilion, London, Carmody Groarke. Photo is by Luke Hayes.

Another feature of the RIBA Awards this year are public spaces - pavilions, monuments, Liverpool Pierhead and the Infinity Bridge in Teesdale have all picked up an award.

Above: New Horizon Youth Centre, Adam Khan Architects. Photo is by David Grandorge.

Amongst the architects there are some multiple winners, with the highest number of RIBA Awards going to Rick Mather Architects (4 awards).

Above: Broadcasting Place, Leeds, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios. Photo is by Cloud 9.

Many of the UK’s prominent architects are awarded this year for their work outside of the UK with Zaha Hadid, David Chipperfield, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners and Tony Fretton all winning an RIBA Award for buildings in the EU.

Above: Clapham Manor Primary School, London, drmm. Photo is by Jonas Lencer

In contrast, the RIBA is pleased that there are many practices, some of whom are very small practices, winning an RIBA for the first time. First-time winners include Carmody Groarke who have won two RIBA Awards this year.

Above: Salvation Army, Chelmsford, Hudson Architects. Photo is by Keith Collie.

RIBA President Ruth Reed said about the 2010 RIBA Award winners:

“The RIBA Awards reflect not only the state of British architecture but also that of its economy. In the midst of the deepest recession in the 45 year history of the RIBA Awards, this year’s awards demonstrate that although times might be hard for architects, there are still great buildings being built throughout the country and overseas. The RIBA Awards always give an opportunity for gem-like small projects and less established practices to shine through and this year is no exception. Far from being a size prize, the RIBA Awards are for buildings that offer value to people’s lives. I am looking forward to seeing an exciting RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist.”

Above: Zero Carbon House, Birmingham, John Christophers, photo is by Martine Hamilton Knight

The 93 UK buildings that have won an RIBA Award are:


  • Aberdeen Regional Sports Centre, Reiach and Hall
  • Balnearn Boathouse, McKenzie Strickland Assocs
  • Hotel Missoni, Allan Murray Architects
  • House on the Hill, Paterson Architects
  • Infirmary Street Baths, Malcom Fraser Architects
  • New Stobhill Hospital, Reiach and Hall
  • Small Animal Hospital, Archial
  • Trongate 103, Elder & Cannon Architects


  • Downe Hospital, Scott Wilson Architects
  • Kevin Kahan Salon, Twenty-two over seven
  • St Malachy's Church, Consarc Conservation


  • City Space, Faulkner Browns
  • Coopers Studios, Ryder Architecture
  • Great North Museum, Farrells with Purves Ash & Casson Mann
  • Infinity Bridge, Spence Associates
  • Newcastle City Library, Ryder Architecture


  • Chips, Alsop Architects / Archial
  • Liverpool 1, sites 1 & 7, Dixon Jones - Haworth Tomkins
  • LJMU Art & Design Academy, Rick Mather Architects
  • New Roundhouse, Walker Simpson Architects
  • Pierhead & Canal Link, Aecom


  • Broadcasting Place, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Hull Truck Theatre, Wright + Wright Architects
  • Junction, Buschow Henley
  • Navigation Warehouse, BDP
  • The Workshop, DRDH Architects


  • Cardiff Central Library, BDP
  • Chapter Arts Centre, Ash Sakula
  • Creative Business Units, Heatherwick Studio
  • Hafod Eryi (Snowdon Summit Building), Ray Hole Architects
  • Margam Duscovery Centre, Loyn and Co / Architects & Design Reserach Unit
  • Skypad - Teenage Cancer Trust Unit, orms Architecture Design
  • Sleeperz Hotel, Clash Associates


  • St Luke's CE Primary School, Architype
  • Zero Carbon House, John Christophers



  • Aldeburgh Music Creative Campus, Haworth Tomkins
  • Creative Exchange, 5th Studio
  • Downing College, Caruso St John Architects
  • Hunsett Mill, Acme
  • Martello Tower, Piercy Conner Architects / Billings Jackson Design industrial design
  • Norwich Cathedral Hostry, Hopkins Architects
  • Salvation Army Chelmsford, Hudson Architects


  • Lewis House / 54 Wonford Road, David Sheppard Architects
  • Mills Bakery, gillespie yunnie architects


  • Aardman Animation, Alec French Architects
  • Furzey Hall Farm, Waugh Thistleton Architects
  • The Hyde, Purcell Miller Tritton
  • Rednock School, Cube Design


  • Ashmolean Museum, Rick Mather Architects
  • Corpus Christi College, Rick Mather Architects
  • The Gateway, RMJM
  • Private House, Yiangou Architects
  • Water Hall Primary School, Architecure MK (now closed)
  • Welch House, The Manser Practice
  • Wellstead Primary School, Hampshire County Council


  • Christ's College School, DSDHA
  • Crawley Library, Penoyre & Prasad
  • Mill House, CTM Architects
  • School of Arts, Hawkins/Brown
  • Towner, Rick Mather Architects


The nine RIBA Award buildings in the European Union are:

The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn from the 102 RIBA Award winners. The RIBA Stirling Prize, in association with The Architects’ Journal is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The prize will be presented at The Roundhouse, London on Saturday 2 October 2010.

See also:


Stirling Prize
winner 2009
Stirling Prize
shortlist 2009
More architecture