Dezeen Magazine

El Ultimo Grito win London Design Medal 2012

News: London design duo El Ultimo Grito have won the London Design Medal "for their exceptional contribution to design", according to

El Ultimo Grito's Rosario Hurtado and Robert Feo collected the medal at a ceremony held at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office in London on Monday night as part of the London Design Festival. Hurtado and Feo won a medal designed by London jeweller Hannah Martin with Pentagram.

The London Design Medal is awarded each year to the figure deemed to made "an outstanding contribution to London and design". Last year it went to Ron Arad, while Thomas Heatherwick won in 2010. Previous to that the winners were Sir Paul Smith and Marc Newson, with Zaha Hadid winning the inaugural medal in 2007.

At the ceremony, Sir Terence Conran was given a Lifetime Achievement Award while Jane ní Dhulchaointigh, inventor of Sugru, won the inaugural Design Entrepreneur award. Artist Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg won the Emerging Talent award, which was also awarded for the first time this year.

See all our stories about the London Design Festival 2012