Foster wins Aga Khan architecture award

Foster + Partners have won the 2007 Aga Khan Award for Architecture for their Petronas University of Technology in Malaysia.


The triannual prize, billed as the richest in the world with a prize of US$ 500,000, is for buildings that "successfully address the needs and aspirations of Muslim societies".


Here is the press release about the award:


Press Release

4 September 2007

Petronas University of Technology receives 2007 Aga Khan Award for Architecture


On 4 September 2007, at a ceremony in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, His Highness the Aga Khan awarded Foster + Partners the prestigious Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the Petronas University of Technology, Malaysia. The building was noted for having attained the highest standards of architectural excellence while reflecting the values of their specific environment and was cited as being an "inspiring structure for progressive education".

Founded in 1977, the Award runs every three years and marks its 30th anniversary and the completion of the 10th cycle of the programme. With a triennial prize fund of US$ 500,000, it is the world’s largest architectural award.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of Muslim societies. The Award recognises examples of architectural excellence in all the places where Muslims live, in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, historic preservation, re - use and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment.

His Highness the Aga Khan has remarked "The essence of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture is to examine, analyse, understand, and try to influence the dynamic of physical change in Islamic societies. Our attempt and aspiration is to try to have the humility, but also the competence, to understand what is happening and to seek to influence it so that future generations can live in a better environment."

This year 343 projects were presented for consideration, and 27 were reviewed on site by international experts. An independent Master Jury selected nine Award recipients.

The eight other projects selected by the 2007 Award Master Jury are:

Restoration of the Amiriya Complex, Rada, Yemen

Samir Kassir Square, Beirut, Lebanon

Rehabilitation of the City of Shibam, Yemen

Central Market, Koudougou, Burkina Faso

Moulmein Rise Residential Tower, Singapore

Royal Netherlands Embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Rehabilitation of the Walled City, Nicosia, Cyprus

School in Rudrapur, Dinajpur, Bangladesh