Dezeen Magazine

WSJ. Magazine announces winners of inaugural Innovator of the Year Awards

Dezeen Wire: artist Ai Weiwei, architect Bjarke Ingels and designer Joris Laarman are among the winners of WSJ. Magazine's first Innovator of the Year Awards, a prize honouring the world's most creative and progressive individuals.

The winners were chosen by editors of the Wall Street Journal and a panel of experts and will be presented with the awards (designed by Laarman) at a ceremony at the Museum of Modern Art in New York on Thursday.

Here is some more information from WSJ. Magazine, including the full line up of winners:

WSJ. Magazine's first annual Innovator of the Year Awards celebrate the people and ideas changing the world

WSJ. Magazine has announced its inaugural Innovator of the Year Awards, honoring the most creative, disruptive, and influential individuals in the world today. In conjunction with the November issue of WSJ., seven winners will be honored at a dinner on Thursday, October 27, at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. The November issue of WSJ. will hit newsstands on Saturday, October 29, as part of WSJ Weekend.

“Our goal was to determine who is shaping our world the most creative, groundbreaking ways,” said Editor-in-Chief Deborah Needleman in announcing the awards, “whether it’s something we behold or live in, marvel at, participate in or consume.”

The winners of the 2011 WSJ. Magazine’s Innovator of the Year Awards are: Ai Weiwei (Art); Katie Grand (Fashion); Elon Musk(Technology); Bjarke Ingels (Architecture); Steve Ells (Food); Joris Laarman (Design); and The Giving Pledge, founded by Warren Buffetand Bill Gates (Philanthropy).

The Innovator of the Year Awards were chosen by editors of The Wall Street Journal, with input from a select group of experts in each field. The award itself was designed by the winner in the design category, Joris Laarman. This year’s awards are sponsored by Audi and Cartier.

The 2011 WSJ. Innovators of the Year

ART: Ai Weiwei, the acclaimed artist and creator of the Bejiing Olympics’ “bird’s nest” stadium, who became the worldwide symbol of free expression when he was jailed this year by the Chinese government. Artist Marina Abramovic will accept the award on his behalf.

FASHION: Katie Grand, the visionary stylist and right-hand woman to trailblazing designers such as Marc Jacobs and Miuccia Prada, whose ability to interpret and create new trends is unmatched. Designer Marc Jacobs will present the award to Grand.

TECHNOLOGY: Elon Musk, for revolutionizing three of the biggest industries in the world--automobiles, energy and space exploration--simultaneously. Musk envisions a world where cars run on electricity, where homes and businesses are powered by the sun, and where humans colonize Mars. Artist Tom Sachs, whose recent work is based on the imagery of space, will present the award to Musk.

ARCHITECTURE: Bjarke Ingels, for his wildly expressive structures, including the radical re-imagining of the New York high-rise apartment building, his commitment to sustainability and his philosophy of “pragmatic utopianism.” Richard Wurman, the author, architect and founder of the TED conferences, will present the award to Ingels.

FOOD: Steve Ells, chef and founder of Chipotle restaurants, for his dedication to sustainability, reinventing fast food and changing the way America eats. Presenting Ells with his award will be best-selling author and organic food advocate Jonathan Safran Foer.

DESIGN: Joris Laarman for seamlessly melding the invisible logic of science with the ornamental nature of design, mapping out a bold new aesthetic with robots and 3-D printers. Presenting the award to Laarman will be Murray Moss, founder of design art company Moss.

PHILANTHROPY: The Giving Pledge for its revolutionary effect on Philanthropy. Launched just over one year ago by Warren Buffett andBill Gates, The Giving Pledge has turned into the biggest fundraiser in the world, attracting 69 billionaires so far and a total value of more than $150 billion.


Back to Dezeenwire »
Back to Dezeen »