Dezeen Magazine

LafargeHolcim Awards

Call for entries in the LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction

Dezeen promotion: the LafargeHolcim Awards is open for entries, calling professionals as well as the next generation of designers to share their sustainable architecture projects.

Now in its sixth edition, the LafargeHolcim Awards is one of the world's most significant international competitions for sustainable architecture, with a total of two million dollars in prize money .

The competition invites professionals and young designers working across architecture, engineering and urban planning to share projects "that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence".

LafargeHolcim Awards
The tri-annual LafargeHolcim Awards competition is now open for entries until February 25, 2020

"The competition promotes circular thinking and the reduction of CO2 emissions across all disciplines," explained the LafargeHolcim Foundation.

"It identifies the ideas with the highest potential to tackle today's challenges to increasing urbanisation and to improve quality of life."

LafargeHolcim Awards
It is described as the world's most significant international competition for sustainable design

LafargeHolcim Awards' main category calls for sustainable construction projects that are at an advanced stage of design, and with a high probability of realisation. Construction must not have started before January 1, 2019.

Its other category, Next Generation, seeks "visionary design concepts" and bold ideas from young professionals and students – welcoming studio and research work.

To enter this category, designers must be under 30 years old. Students and young professionals are also welcome to enter the main category with projects that have reached an advanced stage of design.

LafargeHolcim Awards
It welcomes designs by professionals and young creatives

Submissions will be judged by independent renowned experts from architecture, engineering and planning.

Judging criteria covers innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; and contextual and aesthetic impact.

LafargeHolcim Awards
It offers a total of two million dollars in prize money

The competition is open to entries now until 25 February 2020. For more details, visit the website of the Foundation for Sustainable Construction.

Submitting entries in the competition is free. Each entry requires information about the designer, alongside a project summary, technical details, and images of the project. A step-by-step guide is available here.

The LafargeHolcim Awards is conducted by the LafargeHolcim Foundation, an independent legal entity sponsored by LafargeHolcim, a global leader in building materials and solutions.