AHEAD Middle East and Africa 2020 awards winners announced in video ceremony on Dezeen

AHEAD announced the best new hotel designs in the Middle East and Africa region in a video ceremony broadcast by Dezeen for the hospitality awards programme.

The ceremony was in two parts on 9 Nov, and can be viewed in order below. The most recent part of the ceremony, in which the AHEAD Middle East and Africa (MEA) Hotel of the Year was revealed, is also included at the top of this story.

The event was hosted by Sleeper Magazine's editor-at-large Guy Dittrich, and featured exclusive video content from the AHEAD nominees, as well as from the judges and sponsors of the awards programme.

The AHEAD awards celebrate striking hospitality projects from across the world and is split into four different regions: MEA, Asia, the Americas and Europe.

The 2020 MEA leg of the competition reviewed projects that have opened, reopened or launched in the continent between January 2019 and February of this year.

In June this year, Dezeen broadcast a ceremony announcing the winners of the AHEAD Americas awards winners 2020 as part of Virtual Design Festival.

Dezeen also broadcast a ceremony in March announcing the winners of the Asia leg of the competition.

 

AHEAD MEA 2020 – part one
2:00pm Dubai time / 12:00pm South Africa time / 10:00am UK time

In the first part of the ceremony, winners were announced in categories including Bar, Club or Lounge, Landscaping & Outdoor Spaces, Renovation, Restoration & Conversion, Spa & Wellness, Guestrooms, Lobby & Public Spaces, Hotel Newbuild and Lodges, Cabins & Tented Camps.

 

AHEAD MEA 2020 – part two
3:00pm Dubai time / 1:00pm South Africa time / 11:00am UK time

The second part of the ceremony saw the winners of the Resort, Suite, Restaurant, New Concept and Visual Identity categories, and the AHEAD MEA Hotel of the Year will be revealed.