Dezeen Magazine

Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François

Mies van der Rohe Award reveals finalists for 2024

The seven finalists for this year's edition of the Mies van der Rohe Award have been revealed and include a Czech art gallery, an urban space in southern Sweden and a copper-clad convent in Corsica.

The nominated projects include five architecture finalists and two emerging finalists from six different countries.

Reggio School
Above: The Reggio School is nominated in the architecture category. Photo by José Hevia. Top image: a convent in France is also a finalist. Photo by Thibaut Dini

In the architecture category, the nominees include two educational projects – The Study Pavilion on the campus of the Technical University of Braunschweig in Germany by Gustav Düsing & Max Hacke and The Reggio School in Spain by Andres Jaque's Office for Political Innovation.

It also includes two transformations of historic buildings. These are the adaptive reuse of a slaughterhouse that was turned into an art gallery in Ostrava, the Czech Republic, by KWK Promes and the Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François in Sainte-Lucie-de-Tallano, Corsica, France, by Amelia Tavella Architectes.

Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François
The Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François has a copper-clad volume. Photo by Thibaut Dini

The Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François is a project involving the renovation and extension of a 15th-century convent with a perforated copper volume.

Häge in Lund, Sweden, by Brendeland & Kristoffersen Architects is the fifth finalist in the architecture category. The design features an enclosed garden, as well as a corten-steel pavilion.

Gabriel García Márquez Library
Among the emerging finalists were the Gabriel García Márquez Library. Photo by Jesús Granada

The two emerging finalists this year were the Gabriel García Márquez Library in Barcelona, Spain, by SUMA Arquitectura and the Square and Tourist Office in Piódão, Portugal, by Branco del Rio.

All seven finalists were chosen for their inclusivity and possibility to become "global European models".

"The jury considers that the seven finalist works encourage and become references for local city policies which can become global European models, because they all create high-quality inclusive living environments," the jury said.

"Most of them transform and improve the conditions of rather small communities in places that had gone through different processes of oblivion: former industrial areas and small rural villages. Those works in bigger cities are implemented in rather peripheric areas, building strong associations with the existing neighbourhoods."

The jury was chaired by architect Frédéric Druot and also included architect Martin Braathen, architect Sala Makumbundu, CEO of consulting company BSFY Adriana Krnáčová and founder of Njiric+ Arhitekti Hrvoje Njiric.

The winners for both the architecture and emerging categories be announced on 25 April 2024 during an event at CIVA (Centre for Information, Documentation and Exhibitions on the city, architecture, landscape and urban planning) in Brussels.

The Mies van der Rohe Award is given out by the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

In 2022, the architecture award was given to RIBA Gold Medal Award-winning studio Grafton Architects. The studio's Town House, a collonaded teaching building designed for Kingston University in London, became the last UK winner as projects in the country are no longer eligible to take part after it left the European Union.

Previous award winners also include a social housing revamp in France (2019) and Barozzi Veiga's Szczecin Philharmonic Hall in Poland (2015).

More images

Plato Contemporary Art Gallery
Photo by Jakub Certowicz
Plato Contemporary Art Gallery
Photo by Jakub Certowicz
Study Pavilion TU Braunschweig
Photo by Leonhard Clemens
Reggio School
Photo by José Hevia
Photo by Thomas Skinnemoen
Photo by Thomas Skinnemoen
Square and Tourist Office
Photo by Frederico Martinho
Gabriel García Márquez Library
Photo by Jesús Granada