Dezeen Magazine

The Danish Wadden Sea Centre by Dorte Mandrup

Mies van der Rohe Award 2022 shortlist revealed

David Chipperfield's restoration of Berlin's Neue Nationalgalerie, a memorial park on the site of a former synagogue and a visitor centre by Dorte Mandrup are among the 40 European projects shortlisted for this year's Mies van der Rohe Award.

The biannual European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award is named after modernist architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.

It is usually given by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe to the best European architecture project completed within the past two years. However, the 2022 edition will feature works from the past 2.5 years as the coronavirus pandemic has delayed the award.

Town House by Grafton Architects for Kingston University, UK
Above: Kingston University – Town House by Grafton Architects is on the shortlist. Photo is by Dennis Gilbert. Top image: as is the Wadden Sea Centre by Dorte Mandrup. Photo is by Adam Mørk

This year, the shortlisted works can be found in 18 different European countries. Austria, France and Spain have the most shortlisted projects – five each – followed by Belgium, Germany and the United Kingdom, with three projects each.

Denmark, Finland, Poland and Portugal have two shortlisted works and the Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania and Slovenia have one project each.

Prague riverside revitalisation
Prague riverside revitalisation by Petr Janda is on the list. Photo is by BoysPlayNice

The projects located in the UK are currently still on the shortlist – as are two projects in the EU designed by UK studios – despite the country having left the EU through Brexit, which means UK projects will not be eligible for the award from 2021 and onwards.

"In the funding period 21-27, UK entities are not eligible to participate in EU grants procedures by default, since the UK became a third country as of the entry into force of the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement signed on 1 February 2020," Fundació Mies van der Rohe told Dezeen.

"Furthermore, the agreement does not apply to the current funding period."

The majority of the shortlisted works this year are collective housing projects, with nine schemes of this typology.

There are seven cultural buildings shortlisted and six mixed-use buildings on the list.

Enrico Fermi school
Enrico Fermi School by BDR Bureau is the only Italian project shortlisted. Photo is by Simone Bossi

The shortlist was chosen by a jury consisting of architect Tatiana Bilbao, journalist and curator Francesca Ferguson, architect Mia Hägg, art historian Triin Ojari, architect Georg Pendl, former Thessaloniki deputy mayor Spiros Pengas and architect Marcel Smets.

Five finalists for the award will be announced on 16 February, with the architecture and emerging winners revealed in mid-April. The EU Mies Awards Day, when the awards ceremony will be held, will take place at the Mies van der Rohe Barcelona Pavilion in May.

Sports centre in Barcelona
Turó de la Peira's Sports Center by Arquitectura Anna Noguera and J2J Architects. Photo is by Enric Duch

Sustainability and inclusivity were among the things the jury looked at this year.

"One of the main elements in architectural sustainability is the long life of buildings," Smets said. "If we build new buildings, we must envision their next life, allow their next life."

"The pandemic has further changed our view on architecture and how we live. I personally think it is extremely important to highlight something whereby collective life is central and, maybe, where there is also some sense of local in it. Not only the global but also the local, because people have recently rediscovered the importance of their close environment."

High-profile projects that are up for the award include the David Chipperfield renovation of the Mies van der Rohe-designed Neue Nationalgalerie gallery in Berlin, Petr Jandr's revitalisation of the Prague waterfront and Grafton Architects' Kingston University London, which won the 2021 Stirling Prize.

Read on for the full list of all 40 finalists sorted by country:

› Atelierhaus C.21, by Werner Neuwirth
› School Campus Neustift, by Fasch & Fuchs Architekten
› Reviltalization of a Town House, by Mia2 Architektur
› Gleis 21, by Einszueins Architektur
› New Gallery and Casemates / New Bastion, by Bevk Perovic Arhitekti

Neue Galerie und Kasematten by Bevk Perovic Arhitekti
Neue Galerie und Kasematten is one of five Austrian projects shortlisted. Photo is by David Schreyer

Gare Maritime, by Neutelings Riedijk Architects
› Melopee Multipurpose School Building, by Xaveer de Geyter Architects
› Z33 House for Contemporary Art, Design and Architecture by Francesco Torzo

Czech Republic:
› Prague Eyes – Riverfront Revitalization, by Petr Janda

› Wadden Sea Centre, by Dorte Mandrup
› Malt Factory, by Praksis, VMB Restoration Architects, Kirstine Jensen Landscape Architecture, Morten Skovmand Artist and Henry Jensen Engineers

› Tikkurila Church and Housing, by OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture
› Helsinki Olympic Stadium Refurbishment and Extension, by KS2 Architects Ltd and Arkkitehdit NRT

Student residence in France
Five French projects were shortlisted, including the Student Residence and Reversible Car Park. Photo is by Maxime Delvaux

› Nursery and Primary School, by Atelier Julien Boidot
› Pierres Blanches Cultural Centre, by RAUM
› Railway Farm, by Grand Huit and Melanie Drevet Paysagiste
› Vertical Farm, by Ilimelgo and Secousses Architectes
› Student Residence and Reversible Car Park, by Baukunst and Bruther

› Frizz 23, by Deadline (Britta Jürgens + Matthew Griffin)
› Housing Rack/Pre-fab House in Berlin, by FAR frohn&rojas
› Neue Nationalgalerie, by David Chipperfield Architects

› Dexamenes Seaside Hotel, by K-Studio

› Extension and Reconstruction of the Vizafogó Kindergarten, by Archikon

› Enrico Fermi School, by BDR Bureau

LocHal Public Library, by Civic Architects, Braaksma & Roos architectenbureau and Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse
LocHal Public Library was also shortlisted. Photo is by Stijn Bollaert

The Netherlands:
› LocHal Public Library, by Civic Architects, Braaksma & Roos architectenbureau and Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse

› Vindmøllebakken, by Helen & Hard

› Local Activity Centre, by Marlena Wolnik MWArchitekci
› Great Synagogue Memorial Park, by Narchitektura/Bartosz Haduch

› Marquês de Abrantes' Palace, by Ateliermob
› Portas do Mar - public space and car parking, by Carrilho da Graça Arquitectos

› Apartments building Mumuleanu 14/Urban Spaces, by ADN Birou de Arhitectura

› Market Square Ptuj, by Arhitektura Krušec and Studio AKKA

› Turó de la Peira's Sports Center and Layout of the Interior Urban Block, by Arquitectura Anna Noguera and J2J architects
› Recovery of Merola's Tower, by Carles Enrich Studio
› La Borda - Cooperative Housing, by Lacol
› Fabra & Coats & Social Housing, by Roldán + Berengué Arquitectes
› 85 Social Housing Units in Cornellà, by Peris + Toral Arquitectes

Hill House Box by Carmody Groarke built around Charles Rennie Mackintosh's Hill House
Despite no longer being part of the EU, three UK projects were shortlisted including Hill House Box. Photo is by Johan Dehlin

United Kingdom:
› Hill House Box, by Carmody Groarke
› Second Home Offices in Holland Park, by SelgasCano
› Town House, Kingston University, by Grafton Architects