Dezeen Magazine

Zaha Hadid features on new Iraqi postage stamp

The Iraqi postal service has paid tribute to the late Zaha Hadid by featuring her on a new stamp – using an image created by combining two separate portraits.

The Iraq-born architect, who died earlier this year aged 65, is one of two architects honoured on the new postage stamps, along with Mohamed Makiya, who passed away last year at the age of 101.

Hadid's portrait has been created by montaging together two photographs.

The image of her face was taken shortly before her death, when she was chosen as the 2016 recipient of the Royal Gold Medal for architecture. The image of her outfit forms part of a portrait shot by Time Magazine in 2010.

Hadid's portrait was created by montaging together two photographs, including one taken when she was chosen as the 2016 recipient of the Royal Gold Medal for architecture

She is pictured alongside drawings of several projects, including the Heydar Aliyev Center in Baku, Azerbaijan, and her scrapped design for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Stadium.

Hadid appears on the 750 dinar (44 pence) stamp, while the 1000 dinar (58 pence) stamp features Makiya.

iraq postage stamp mohamed makiya_dezeen_936_2
The 1000 dinar stamp features Mohamed Makiya, best known for his extension to the Khulafa Mosque in Baghdad. Photo by Gihan Badi/Twitter

Although not well known internationally, Makiya is one of Iraq's most important 20th century architects, responsible for the extension to the Khulafa Mosque in Baghdad and the Sheikh Mubarak building in Bahrain.

Both architects had been based in London. Hadid moved to the UK in 1972 to study at the Architectural Association, while Makiya moved abroad in the late 1980s, establishing the Kufa Gallery to promote Iraqi and Arab culture.

Images of the stamps emerged yesterday, after being posted online by Twitter user Gihan Badi.

Other examples of stamps that pay tribute to famous designers include a Royal Mail series celebrating 20th-century British classics, featuring the Anglepoise lamp by George Carwardine and Polypropylene Chair by Robin Day.