Dezeen Magazine

AOP Award

Dezeen editor Tom Ravenscroft named Editor of the Year at publishing awards

Dezeen editor Tom Ravenscroft has been named Editor of the Year at the Association of Online Publishers' annual awards ceremony.

Ravenscroft won the award for leading the publication to one of its most successful years during a difficult period following the death of Dezeen founder Marcus Fairs.

"Tom was the standout visionary in this category and it's clear that he's been able to use that strong vision to energise his team during a potentially difficult and challenging time for the business," said the judges.

He won the award, which recognises excellence in online publishing, alongside other winners on the night including The Economist, ESPN, Times, Telegraph, Independent and Which?

Tom Ravenscroft winning an award
Tom Ravenscroft was named Editor of the Year at AOP Awards

Dezeen was also shortlisted in the Editorial Team of the Year category as well as Best Online Brand: B2B and Small Digital Publisher of the Year awards.

Ravenscroft and Dezeen are also shortlisted for three awards – Editor of the Year, Special Interest Magazine and Editorial Team of the Year – at the Professional Publishers Association awards, which will be announced later this month.

The awards are the latest recognition for Dezeen's editorial content. The brand was named Business Publication of the Year at the PPA's annual awards and editorial brand of the year by the International Building Press last year.