Dezeen Magazine

2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards category winners announced

the Design Museum in London have announced the category winners for the 2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards. See press release below.

Category winners announced for the 2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards

Chair of the Jury, Antony Gormley and the 2010 panel select their category winners with the overall winner to be announced at the Design Museum on 16 March.

London 5 March 2010: The seven category winners of the Brit Insurance Design Awards 2010 are announced today. Collectively they celebrate everyday design, reflecting international trends, current themes of sustainability and social enablement. Winners originate from Chile, China, Netherlands, UK and USA.

The winners include Monterrey Housing, a new model for social housing in Mexico, a project which was first trialed in Chile. The E430 Electric Aircraft, the first of its kind which produces zero emissions; and Grassworks a beautiful flat pack furniture kit made of sustainable bamboo which requires no drills or glue.

British designer, Alexander McQueen, was selected as winner of the Fashion category and jury member Paula Reed, Style Director of Grazia commented ‘The video presentation of McQueen's last show is one of the most compelling pieces in the exhibition. […]The impressiveness simply compounds the enormity of his loss.’

The seven Brit Insurance category winners are:

  • Brit Insurance Architecture Award 2010: Monterrey Housing, Mexico. By Elemental. Chile.
  • Brit Insurance Fashion Award 2010: Alexander McQueen Spring / Summer ’10 and Spring / Summer Catwalk presentation Plato’s Atlantis. UK
  • Brit Insurance Furniture Award 2010: Grassworks. By Jair Straschnow. Netherlands.
  • Brit Insurance Graphic Award 2010: The Newspaper Club. By Ben Terrett, Russell Davies and Tom Taylor. UK
  • Brit Insurance Interactive Award 2010: The EyeWriter. By members of Free Art and Technology, openFrameworks, Graffiti Research La, The Ebeling Group and Tony Quan. USA
  • Brit Insurance Product Award 2010: Folding Plug. By Min-Kyu Choi.UK
  • Brit Insurance Transport Award 2010: E430 Electric Aircraft. By Yuneec International. China.

Antony Gormley Chair of the Jury comments "The seven winners provide a snapshot of some of the most outstanding designs from the past 12 months and reflect the important role design plays in improving people’s lives.”

The seven winning designs will now compete for the overall Brit Insurance Design of the Year 2010, to be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the Design Museum on 16 March. The winning entries, along with all the shortlisted designs, are on show at the Design Museum until 6 June.


Back to Dezeenwire »
Back to Dezeen »