Dezeen Magazine

Cliff House by MacKay Lyons Sweetapple Architects
Cliff House by MacKay Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Residential Architecture winner 2014

Call for entries to the 2015 AZ Awards

Dezeen promotion: contemporary architecture and design magazine Azure is now accepting submissions from architects, designers, manufacturers, clients and students to its annual AZ Awards.

Returning for a fifth year, the AZ Awards recognises exemplary work completed in 2014 by architecture firms, design studios, independent designers and architects, and manufacturers.

Cultura bookstore by Studio MK27
Cultura bookstore by Studio MK27, Commercial Interiors, winner AZ Awards 2014. Main image: Cliff House by MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Residential Architecture, winner AZ Awards 2014

Applicants have until 20 February to submit their entries in a range of categories: architecture, interiors, landscape architecture, design and concepts.

Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2014 are eligible for the A+ Award, which comes with a CAD$5,000 (approximately £2,700) cash prize.

Tangent Clock by Scott Sullivan
Tangent Clock by Scott Sullivan, Concepts Prototypes, winner AZ Awards 2014

New accolades this year include the Social Good Award, to be presented to a project that must "advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm".

Also introduced for 2015 is the Environmental Leadership Award for a scheme that demonstrates a responsible use and management of natural resources in regards to energy consumption and materials.

Open House by Matthew Mazzotta
Open House by Matthew Mazzotta, Temporary Architecture, winner AZ Awards 2014

It costs CAD$150 (approximately £80) to enter a project for the awards. Students are charged CAD$30 (approximately £17) to submit their work.

Last year's laureates (pictured) included a stepped bookstore in Brazil, a house that unfolds into theatre seating and a conceptual clock with hands positioned at a tangent to its circular marble centre.

Coil Lamp by Brian Richer and Kei Ng
Coil Lamp by Brian Richer and Kei Ng, Lighting, winner AZ Awards 2014

Winners will be published in this year's AZ Awards Annual and will be honoured at the AZ Awards Gala at the Evergreen Brick Works in Toronto on 19 June 2015.

Visit the Azure website to find out more about the AZ Awards and click here to submit an entry.

Read on for further information from the organisers:

Your work deserves exposure and recognition, submit to the AZ Awards now!

The 2015 AZ Awards is now open for submissions.

Established by Azure Magazine in 2011, the AZ Awards is an international competition celebrating design excellence. The winners and finalists of the AZ Awards greatly benefit from the exposure offered by this widely recognized competition.

Net Effect carpet tile by David Oakey
Net Effect carpet tile by David Oakey, Interiors Products, winner AZ Awards 2014

Entries are juried by a panel of international design experts at the forefront of their professions. Finalists and Winners are published in the 2015 AZ Awards Annual and are recognized at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto, 19 June 2015.

The AZ Awards is open to:

» Architects
» Landscape Architects
» Interior Designers
» Product Designers
» Product Manufacturers
» Clients
» Students in design-related disciplines

Smith Creek Park at Virginia Tech USA by design buildLAB
Smith Creek Park at Virginia Tech USA by design buildLAB, winner, A+ Award 2014

Submissions close 20 February 2015

Azure is an award-winning magazine with a focus on contemporary architecture and design. Since its launch in 1985, it has earned a global reputation for excellence. Published eight times a year, Azure is an indispensable resource for architects, designers and the design-savvy public.