Morrison, Pawson and Levete create works for Maggie's charity auction
Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

Jasper Morrison, John Pawson and Amanda Levete create works for Maggie's charity auction

Dezeen promotion: a mix of established and emerging designers have contributed one-off artworks to be auctioned anonymously for Joy of Living, an initiative raising money for Maggie's Centres.

The Joy of Living exhibition is organised by design writer Max Fraser, who first ran the event in 2011, and new collaborator Aynsley Munsie.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

For each iteration, Fraser invites designers to contribute an artwork around a theme or using particular materials – and this year Jasper Morrison, John Pawson, Barber and Osgerby, Tom Dixon, Amanda Levete, Faye Toogood, Bethan Laura Wood, Rolf Sachs and Lee Broom are among those who answered the call.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

For this, the third instalment, the brief was to use three pieces of coloured paper from GF Smith's Colorplan range. The colours were randomly selected from a set of 12, and the designers could manipulate them in any manner they wanted.

The results range from sketches and colourful collages to a sculpture of a desk lamp and some shredded-paper homeware.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

It's not known who made which work, meaning buyers are enticed to bid by the qualities of the art – and the chance they might be taking home a piece by a big name.

Although the creator of each piece will only be revealed once it has sold, the works are signed by their makers.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

All proceeds from the sale of the artworks will go to Maggie's, a charity that offers free practical and emotional support for people living with cancer. It is known for its network of care centres across the UK, which are designed for optimal calm by leading architects including Richard Rogers and Norman Foster.

Fraser started working with Maggie's and was inspired to launch Joy of Living after supporting his mother through a six-year battle with cancer.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

"Maggie's recognises that building an atmosphere of calm and celebrating a good quality of life are immensely beneficial to patients, and I know that my mother would have benefited so positively from its services," he said.

"Charity founder Maggie Keswick Jencks once said, 'Above all what matters is not to lose the joy of living in the fear of dying,' and this statement has inspired the design challenge and Joy of Living project."

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

The Joy of Living aims to raise more than £80,000 for Maggie's. The artworks will be exhibited on the ground floor of One Poultry in London from 5 to 10 September 2017, and open to the public from 10am to 7pm.

The artworks are also available to view online on Maggie's website, where interested buyers can place bids from 5 September. Donations towards the project can be made via Virgin Money.

Artwork for Maggies Centres Joy of Living auction

Dezeen is a media supporter of the event. The confirmed list of participating designers is below, with more expected to submit works before the auction goes live.

Ab Rogers
Adam Blencowe
Alan Dye
Alex Hellum
Alistair Hall
Amanda Levete
Amos Marchant
Ana-Maria Pasescu-Stewart
André Klauser and Ed Carpenter
Anna Murray and Grace Winteringham
Anthony Dickens
Ariane Prin
Azusa Murakami and Alex Groves
Barnaby Barford
Bethan Gray
Bethan Laura Wood
Brodie Neill
Camilla Barnard
Cecilie Maurud Barstad
Charles Trevelyan
Chris Wilkinson
Daljit Singh
Daniel Eatock
Danny Sangra
David Irwin
Dean Brown
Donna Wilson
Doug Hodgson
Ed Barber and Jay Osgerby
Ella Doran
Eva Kellenberger and Sebastian White
Faye Toogood
Fernando Laposse
Frith Kerr
Genevieve Bennett
Giles Miller
Gitta Gschwendtner
Hannah Dipper and Robin Farquhar
Hannah Plumb and James Russell
Helen Amy Murray
Helen Yardley
Ian McIntyre
Ineke Hans
Ismini Samanidou
Ivan Harbour
Jade Jagger
James Patmore
Jamie Anley and Astrid Zala
Jasleen Kaur
Jasper Morrison
John Pawson
John Tree
Jordan Cluroe and Russell Whitehead
Jordan Söderberg Mills
Kia Utzon-Frank
Kim Thome
Laetitia de Allegri and Matteo Fogale
Laura Perryman
Lee Broom
Leonora Oppenheim
Liam Hopkins
Lily Jencks
Lucy Kurrein
Magnus Long
Mandi Keighran
Marcel Wanders
Marina Dragomirova and Iain Howlett
Marina Willer
Marjan van Aubel
Mark Eley and Wakako Kishimoto
Martin Brudnizki
Mathias Hahn
Matthew Raw
Max Lamb
Michael Marriott
Michael Wolfson
Nathan Philpott and Jemma Ooi
Neal Whittington
Nigel Coates
Nina Tolstrup
Oliver Staiano
Oscar Diaz
Pam West and Matt Edmonds
Patrik Fredrikson and Ian Stallard
Paul Cocksedge
Paul Finn
Peter and Cathy Wall
Peter Crawley
Peter Marigold
Phil Cuttance
Richard Ardagh
Rolf Sachs
Rosario Hurtado and Roberta Feo
Ross Lovegrove
Ryan Malone and Giles Massie-Taylor
Sam Bompas and Harry Parr
Sam Jacob
Samuel Wilkinson
Saša Štucin and Nicholas Gardner
Sebastian Bergne
Sebastian Conran
Sebastian Cox
Shin Azumi
Simon Pengelly
Stafford Schmool
Steven Holl
Stuart Haygarth
Tanya Kaprielian
Tej Chauhan
Terence Woodgate
Theo Williams
Tom Brooksbank and Allan Collins
Tom Dixon
Tom Robinson
Tomoko Azumi
Tony Brook
Tord Boontje
Torsten Neeland
Tracey Neuls
Voon Wong and Benson Saw, Ian Macready
Yasuyuki Sakurai and Risa Sano
Yunus Ascott and Eliza Higginbottom