Dezeen Magazine

The Holcim Awards 2023 competition is now open for entries

Promotion: non-profit organisation Holcim Foundation's awards programme invites designers and architects to submit sustainable design projects that "exemplify the most innovative practice in sustainable construction".

The Holcim Awards 2023 is calling on professionals in the design industry to submit real-world projects before 30 March 2023 that lead the way in promoting a sustainable built environment.

Independent expert judges will evaluate the submitted projects based on Holcim Foundation's sustainability goals that the organisation believes drives change.

Jury chairs include founder and director of African Futures Institute, Lesley Lokko; founding partner at Snøhetta, Craig Dykers; founding partner at Morphogenesis, Manit Rastogi; founder of Ecosistema Urbano, Belinda Tato; and founder of Tatiana Bilbao Studio, Tatiana Bilbao.

A render of an office block with a glass facade
The awards aims to accelerate sustainable change in the built environment

Applicants can submit to five regional sections as part of competition: Europe, Middle East Africa, North America, Latin America and Asia Pacific. Projects must be client supported, commissioned for development and should have reached the detailed design phase.

Among the industry professionals judging the Latin American category include principal at Gensler, Carlos Cubillos; chief executive officer at Holcim Colombia, Marco Maccarelli; and founder at MMBB Architecture, Marta Moreira.

Some of the professionals judging the Asia Pacific category include founding director of Desire Lines, Sarah Ichioka and founding CEO of Green Building Council of Australia, Maria Atkinson.

A photograph of the previous winners of the Holcim Awards
The awards programme has run for two decades

The judges in the European category include head of Anupama Kundoo Architecture, Anupama Kundoo and founding partner at Snøhetta, Kjetil Trædal Thorsen.

Among the judges in the Africa category include principal architect at cmDesign Atelier, Tosin Oshinowo and principal at Aziza Chaouni Projects, Aziza Chaouni.

Judges who are accessing North American projects include principal and director of Integration at HKS, Julie Hiromoto and partner at Lateral Office, Lola Sheppard.

Render of an office building filled with plants and shubbery
Independent expert judges will evaluate the submitted projects based on Holcim Foundation's sustainability goals

With the competition, Holcim Foundation aims to raise awareness of the urgency to accelerate systematic change in the construction industry to "ensure a future built environment in which both people and planet can thrive".

The foundation believes that the industry must make wide-scale changes to quickly progress on issues such as climate change, the global housing crisis and ecosystem restoration.

The competition offers prize money of one million USD, split between the five regions, with $200,000 USD available in each region for the Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Acknowledgement prizes.

Render of a glass tower at night
The awards programme invites architects to submit sustainable design and construction projects

"This is your chance to be recognized as a leader in sustainable design and construction, and to inspire others to follow in your footsteps," said the Holcim Foundation.

"The Holcim Awards competition for Sustainable Construction is a global platform that provides an opportunity for architects, engineers and urban planners to share how they are putting their innovative ideas into practice," said executive director at Holcim Foundation, Laura Viscovich.

"We are looking forward to receiving submissions from around the world, and to seeing how these projects will contribute to a more sustainable built environment."

Bird's eye view of urban landscape
The competition is open until 30 March

The Holcim Awards has run for two decades and previous winners of the award include architects Diébédo Francis Kéré, Alejandro Aravena and Wang Shu.

The competition is open for entries until 30 March 2023, and the winners will be announced in person during an event on 18 November 2023 at the 18th International Venice Biennale of Architecture: The Laboratory of the Future.

Partnership content

This article was written by Dezeen for Holcim Foundation as part of a partnership. Find out more about Dezeen partnership content here.