Dezeen Magazine

Frida Escobedo portrait

Frida Escobedo named winner of Le Prix Charlotte Perriand 2024

The Créateurs Design Association & Awards has named Mexican architect Frida Escobedo as the recipient of Le Prix Charlotte Perriand for 2024.

Escobedo was named the winner for next year in recognition of her "daring concepts" and for "ushering in a new era of architecture", said Créateurs Design Association & Awards (CDA).

She is the third-ever laureate of the annual prize, otherwise known as the Charlotte Perriand Award, which spotlights trailblazers in the field of architecture and design.

It was kickstarted by CDA in 2021 to honour the legacy of French modernist Charlotte Perriand, after whom it is named.

Frida Escobedo has won Le Prix Charlotte Perriand for 2024
Frida Escobedo has won Le Prix Charlotte Perriand for 2024. Illustration by Hanna Gomes

"To find myself acknowledged by this remarkable jury is an honour that resonates deeply within me," said Escobedo.

"It serves as a testament to the enduring legacy of Charlotte Perriand, a legacy I am humbled and overjoyed to perpetuate."

Escobedo was born in Mexico City in 1979. She studied architecture at the Ibero-American University before completing her master's at the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

In 2006, she set up her eponymous Mexico City-based studio Frida Escobedo, where she has developed the varied oeuvre for which she is known today.

2018 Serpentine Pavilion
She became the youngest Serpentine Pavilion designer in 2018. Photo by Rafael Gamo

Among the 44-year-old architect's stand-out achievements is becoming the youngest Serpentine Pavilion architect in 2018.

This also marked the first time a solo woman had taken on the project since the inaugural commission by the late Zaha Hadid in 2000.

Other key projects by Escobedo include the conversion of the former home of painter David Alfaro Siqueiros into a public gallery, low-cost housing in Hidalgo and an Aztec-inspired installation for the V&A.

She was also recently selected by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York to design the Oscar L Tang and HM Agnes Hsu-Tang Wing, which had previously been assigned to David Chipperfield Architects.

A common thread throughout her portfolio is the use of simple materials and forms, such as mass-produced cement roof tiles or perforated concrete blocks.

"I think my approach to architecture is that simple forms work the best and that simple materials can express very sophisticated atmospheres," Escobedo told Dezeen in 2019.

"So it's not necessary to have like a very luxurious material in order to achieve a very sophisticated feeling or mood around it."

CDA said Escobedo's "portfolio showcases an exceptional ability to seamlessly blend form and function".

"We are thrilled to bestow Le Prix Charlotte Perriand upon Frida Escobedo," concluded CDA co-founder Yuri Xavier. "Her work exemplifies the qualities that this award seeks to recognize – boldness, innovation, and a commitment to shaping the future of design."

La Tallera gallery by Frida Escobedo
Escobedo's studio converted the former home of artist David Alfaro Siqueiros. Photo by Rafael Gamo

The annual CDA award program celebrates achievements across the fields of architecture, interior design and product design, as well as journalism, curation and photography. ​

Escobedo will receive Le Prix Charlotte Perriand during the upcoming Créateurs Design Awards ceremony, which will take place in Paris on 20 January 2024.

According to the CDA, the award marks the first time that Perriand's family has allowed her name to be used beyond her own work after her death in 1999.

Perriand is best known for her furniture designs and collaborations with the likes of French architects Le Corbusier and Jean Prouvé during the mid-twentieth century.

Last year's winner of the prize was Jeanne Gang, director of US firm Studio Gang, who was celebrated for her design of Aqua Tower, which was once the tallest woman-designed building in the world.

The portrait of Escobedo is by Karla Lisker.