Dezeen Magazine

Musedo de Paracas, Peru

Peruvian, Spanish and British architects shortlisted for Woman Architect of the Year award

Sandra Barclay, Biba Dow, Ángela García de Paredes and Stephanie Macdonald have been shortlisted for the Woman Architect of the Year 2018 award, for projects in Peru, Spain and the UK.

Jointly awarded by the Architects' Journal and The Architectural Review, the Woman Architect of the Year award recognises the architect of a single, recently completed project.

Two Houses in Oropesa by Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos
Ángela García de Paredes is shortlisted for Paredes Pedrosa's Twin Houses, which sit within the walls of a 15th-century castle. Photo is by Luis Asín

Ángela García de Paredes, of Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos, has been shortlisted for her twin houses within the walls of a 15th-century castle, in the foothills of Spain's Sierra de Gredos.

The Madrid-based architect designed the two brightly lit homes for a brother and sister.

Sandra Barclay is recognised for Barclay & Crousse's Museo de Sitio Julio C Tello. Photo is by Cristóbal Palma

Peruvian architect Sandra Barclay, co-founder of Barclay & Crousse, has been recognised for her design of the Museo de Sitio Julio C Tello.

Built at the entrance to Peru's Paracas National Reserve, the Lima-based architect's building stands on the exact site as its predecessor, which was destroyed during an earthquake in 2007.

Biba Dow of Dow Jones Architects is shortlisted for work on London's Garden Museum. Photo is by Anthony Coleman

The shortlist is completed by two UK-based architects.

Biba Dow, co-founder of Dow Jones Architects, has been shortlisted for her work on the Garden Museum in London.

While Stephanie Macdonald, of 6a Architects, makes the shortlist for her design of Cowan Court at the University of Cambridge.

This student accommodation at the university's Churchill College pays homage to the "picturesque brutalism" of the original 1960s campus architecture.

Churchill College by 6A
Stephanie Macdonald of 6a Architects is nominated for Cowan Court, which pays homage to "picturesque brutalism". Photo is by Johan Dehlin

Also announced was the shortlist for the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Woman Architect of the Year, which recognisess excellence in design from women designers under the age of 45.

On the shortlist are Anna Puigjnaner and Maria Charneco of Spanish studio MAIO, Gloria Cabral of Paraguayan Gabinete de Arquitectura, Sook-hee Chun of Korean Wise Architecture and Ilze Wolff of South African practice Wolff Architects.

The winner of both of these prizes will be announced on 2 March 2018, along with the recipient of the Jane Drew Prize, which is awarded to an individual who has helped raised the profile of female architects.

The announcement comes at a time of increasing focus on the lack of diversity within the architecture profession, in the wake of the Harvey Weinstein revelations.

Dezeen's survey recently revealed a huge lack of diversity at senior levels in the world's largest firms.