Dezeen Awards 2023 new categories

New categories for Dezeen Awards 2023

Dezeen Awards 2023 is open for entries with a range of new categories that focus on innovation, sustainability and creativity that will showcase the very best in design talent from around the world.

There are 39 categories to enter which include everything from small-scale residential projects to material innovation. Enter before 29 March to benefit from our discounted early entry prices.

39 categories to enter

New architecture categories have been introduced for both large- and small-scale projects. House extensions can now be entered, as well as education projects, infrastructure and transport projects, and mixed-use projects, which can include urban design and landscape improvements. See all our architecture categories here.

Barlo MS Medical centre by Canadian studio Hariri Pontarini Architects won an accolade in 2022

In design we have added a product design category specifically to reward bathroom and kitchen design, which includes baths, showers, toilets, sinks, taps, kitchen appliances and built-in furniture. See all our design categories here.

Health and wellbeing across all sectors

Health and wellbeing categories have been extended across all three of our sectors: architecture, interiors and design.

These will celebrate innovative projects that contribute to the improvement of people's physical, mental and emotional health.

Wheeliy 2.0 by Quantum
Japanese startup studio Quantum won design project of the year in 2022 for their magnesium and carbon fibre wheelchair

Past health and wellbeing winners include 2022's overall design project of the year winner, Wheeliy, a foldable lightweight wheelchair, a wearable vibrator designed to tackle erectile dysfunction, a hotel-like hospital in Germany and Canada's largest clinic dedicated to those with MS – a complex autoimmune disease that affects the central nervous system.

Sustainable design

We've grown our sustainability categories, too, adding a category for sustainable renovations and retrofits, as well as sustainable building products to reward cutting-edge products where the innovation delivers carbon reduction or improved climate resilience.

Also new for 2023 is a material innovation category. Products that have made an outstanding contribution to material development can be entered, for example, those that significantly reduce embodied carbon or by using circular economy principles where waste is designed out and materials are re-used, or new materials that could shape the future of construction, interiors and design. See all our sustainable categories here.

Start your entries today!

Find out about all of this year's categories and log in or create an account to start your entries.

Click here to find out more information about Dezeen Awards and subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news updates. Plus you can always drop us a line at [email protected] if you have any questions.

Dezeen Awards 2023

Dezeen Awards celebrates the world's best architecture, interiors and design. Now in its sixth year, it has become the ultimate accolade for architects and designers across the globe. The annual awards are in partnership with Bentley Motors, as part of a wider collaboration that will see the brand work with Dezeen to support and inspire the next generation of design talent.