What is Dezeen Awards?

Dezeen Awards is our annual awards programme, now in its fifth year. It identifies the world's best architecture, interiors and design, as well as the studios and the individual architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

Organised by Dezeen, the world's most popular and influential architecture and design website, Dezeen Awards is the benchmark for international design excellence and the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere.

How to enter Dezeen Awards

You can visit the enter page to sign up and create your entry. For more details on how to enter, visit the how to enter page. The page contains information about entry fees and deadlines, which you can also find on the prices and dates page. For more detailed information, please refer to the terms and conditions.

Dezeen Awards 2022 is open for entries. Please visit our prices and dates page for more details.

Why enter Dezeen Awards?

Dezeen Awards is organised by Dezeen and judged by a panel consisting of leading figures from the architecture and design world. This means that Dezeen Awards has unprecedented credibility and reach.

Every shortlisted and winning entry will be published on Dezeen and shared via our huge social media and newsletter audiences, bringing significant recognition to successful entrants. Shortlisted and winning studios will be able to promote the fact that they are Dezeen Awards winners. In addition, winners will get a trophy and a certificate.

What is different about Dezeen Awards?

There are lots of architecture and design awards out there – but Dezeen Awards is different.

First, our low entry prices are designed to attract smaller studios and avoid categories being dominated by large companies that can afford to enter multiple categories.

Second, our judging criteria have been carefully considered to ensure that winning projects are not only beautiful and innovative but also strive to benefit users and the environment. We don't believe that good design today can ignore issues such as social impact or sustainability and we will be looking for projects that incorporate positive thinking in this area.

Third, our awards include categories for architecture, interiors and design – the three key areas that Dezeen writes about. This means that Dezeen Awards is a comprehensive annual survey of the best work across the major fields of architecture and design.


Dezeen Awards 2022 will be judged by an international panel comprised of 93 leading figures from the architecture and design world.

Additionally to this, we will have a special panel of six sustainability experts from the industry to judge our sustainability categories.

We will also have a dedicated panel of judges of experts in the industry to judge our five media categories.

Full details of the judging process can be found on the terms and conditions page.


There are 47 categories that you can enter in total:

In the sectors of architecture, interiors and design, there are 12 project categories and two studio categories each. The studio categories have been specifically created to highlight the architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

There are also three overall project winners, one in each of the sectors of architecture, interiors and design. These categories cannot be entered into, but will be chosen by our master jury from the winners of each of the project categories.

Sustainability categories

These three categories celebrate projects that make positive environmental and social contributions.

These special awards will be assessed by a specially selected jury of sustainability experts from the world of architecture and design. Judges will be announced soon.

Media categories

Last year we launched five media categories for photography, video, visualisations and websites.

The categories will reward excellence in the way architecture, interiors and design are communicated and promoted.

Full details of the categories can be found on the categories page.

What the judges are looking for

For the project categories, judges are looking for entries that best fit the three judging criteria. These are:

Beautiful: does it look amazing? We know that beauty is subjective but our judges will be looking out for aesthetic rigour, good detailing and good use of materials.

Innovative: does it incorporate original thinking or address a problem in a new way? We don't mean that every entry has to reinvent the wheel but we will be looking for evidence of fresh approaches and new ideas.

Beneficial: is it useful and considerate to both people and planet? Your project doesn't have to set out to save the world but it should show respect and consideration for users and the environment.

For studio categories, judges are looking for individual designers or companies that show strong vision and achievement both in terms of completed projects, business success, client satisfaction and positive impact.

They should also describe at least two completed projects that fit the three judging criteria listed above, as well as display evidence of responsible management practices and company policies (for example diversity, wellbeing and training).

What the winners get

All winners will get a trophy designed by Dutch design studio Atelier NL. They will also receive a certificate and receive marketing material to promote themselves as a Dezeen Awards winner. All winners will have their project published on the Dezeen Awards website as well as being mentioned on the main Dezeen site.

In addition, all winners will be widely promoted via Dezeen's extensive email and social media networks. The whole world will know you've won!

You can see 2021 winners here!

Note: once you've paid your entry fee there is no further obligatory payment to make. We do not charge fees for winners, trophies, publications or anything else. In the event that we hold a winners' ceremony, there may be a charge for this but attendance is not obligatory.


Shortlisted entrants receive marketing material to promote their place on the Dezeen Awards shortlist.

266 projects were shortlisted in 2021, across the 47 architecture, interiors, design, sustainability, media and studio categories.

Subscribe for regular updates

Join our mailing list to get updates about Dezeen Awards 2022! Subscribe here.

Contact us

If you have any questions about Dezeen Awards, including press and sponsorship enquiries, please email [email protected].