Dezeen Magazine

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York

AIANY calls for emerging architecture firms to enter New Practices New York awards

Dezeen promotion: submissions are now open for newly established architecture and design studios to enter the New Practices New York 2018 Awards, presented by the city's American Institute of Architects chapter and Center for Architecture.

New Practices New York recognises new firms that are proving their commitment to transforming New York City for the better.

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Past winners from the New Practices New York awards include Workac, which designed this angular rooftop addition. Photograph by Bruce Damonte

Organised together with the AIA New York and Center for Architecture, this year's awards will be judged under the theme of Consequence.

"In these uncertain political, societal, economic, and cultural times, architecture can often feel secondary, relegated to the margins, or perhaps even the superfluous," said a statement from the organisers.

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Taller Zen, the design studio behind Zone 14, was awarded in 2016. Photograph by Andres Asturias

To enter, applicants must submit a portfolio, project image and a practice narrative. Firms must have been established no earlier than 1 January 2008, and have their main office based in one of New York's five boroughs to be eligible.

Key questions posited to applicants relate to everyday life in the city, and how the firm seeks to address critical issues in unique ways. Examples include: How are you engaging with environmental and social issues? What key issues do you seek to address and advocate for as a practice?

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Also awarded in 2016 was Studio Cadena, which created the interiors for Three Room Loft in Brooklyn. Photograph by Ian Allen

"We are looking for firms that choose not to remain on the margins but rather actively and constructively engage their city, their society, and their context," said the organisers' statement.

"We seek firms that offer new modes of thinking, create opportunities for thoughtful architecture, and take agency as designers in NYC."

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Christian Wassman, who designed the Sun Path House in Miami, won in 2012. Photograph is by Lukas Wassmann

The award is managed by AIA New York – the organisation's oldest and largest chapter – and New Practices New York, a sub-committee dedicated to promoting new models of architecture and design.

"The competition has become the preeminent platform in New York City for recognising and promoting the most promising and innovative young architectural practices operating in the city," said a statement.

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Young Projects – a 2016 recipient – constructed the black-coloured Wythe Corner House in Williamsburg. Photograph by Alan Tansey

The biennial awards programme has run since 2006. Winners in the 2016 competition included MODUSTPMJ, Taller KENStudio Cadena and Young Projects.

Five or six firms as winners will be selected by a jury, which will include Beatrice Galilee of The Met's architecture and design department, Jeffrey Inaba of Inaba Williams, Andrés Jaque of Office for Political Innovation, Hilary Sample of MOS Architects, Rosalyne Shieh of Schaum/Shieh – one of the six awarded firms from 2016 – and Dezeen's US editor Dan Howarth.

New York New Practices 2018 Awards by AIA New York
Also among New York New Practices awards winners is SO-IL, which created the all-white Kukje Gallery in Seoul. Photograph by Iwan Ban

An exhibition of work by the awarded firms, designed by Studio Lin, will be on display from 12 April 2018 at the Center for Architecture, where each of the 2018 New Practices New York winners will present their work during a symposium.

Submissions are now open, with an application deadline of 5 January 2018. Winners will be announced 19 January 2018.