Chiangmai Life Architects, Thailand

Studio categories longlist of Dezeen Awards 2018 revealed

Leading names such as MAD and Fuseproject, as well as rising stars like Sigve Knutson and Penda, are among those named on the longlist for the studio awards.

The Dezeen Awards studio categories will name the most outstanding design talents of the past year.

Awards will be given to the best established and emerging talents in each of the architecture, interior design and design categories.

Christ & Gantenbein, Switzerland

Studios battling to be named architect of the year include Swiss firm Christ & Gantenbein, UK studio Jamie Fobert Architects and Mexican office Rojkind Arquitectos, while contenders for emerging architect of the year include US studio The Living and South American office MAPA.

Sweden-based Note Design Studio will battle with French designer India Mahdavi in the interior designer of the year category, while emerging Australian studio Biasol will compete against US office Design Bitches and Italian architect Peter Pichler.

In the design categories, Marije Vogelzang and Lee Broom are both vying for the big prize, while Rick TegelaarMaria Bruun and Fernando Mastrangelo are all hoping to be named emerging designer of the year.

Ghost dining table by Fernando Mastrangelo
Fernando Mastrangelo, USA

The six winners of the studio awards, along with the three overall winners of the architecture, interiors and design categories, will win Ultimate Dezeen Awards.

The announcement of the nine Ultimate Dezeen Award winners will be the highlight of the ceremony, taking place on 27 November 2018. Each winner will receive a trophy designed by Atelier NL.

The awards will be judged by a star-studded panel that includes David Adjaye, Ilse Crawford, Thomas Heatherwick and Es Devlin.

Read on to see the longlist:

Bernardo Bader Architects, Austria

Architect of the year

COBE, Denmark
› MAD, China
Rojkind Arquitectos, Mexico
Bernardo Bader Architects, Austria
Christ & Gantenbein, Switzerland
ODA New York, USA
Austin Maynard Architects, Australia
› Eleena Jamil Architect, Malaysia
Jamie Fobert Architects, UK

Peter Pichler Architecture, Italy

Emerging architect of the year

Penda, Austria/China
The Living, USA
Fernanda Canales Arquitectura, Mexico
SHAU, Netherlands/Germany/Indonesia
Studio Ben Allen, UK
Studioplusthree, Australia
RAW Architecture, Indonesia
Office of Architecture, USA
NOA, Italy
MAPA, Uruguay/Brazil
Lina Ghotmeh, France
Haptic, UK
Chiangmai Life Architects, Thailand
Peter Pichler Architecture, Italy
Raffaello Rosselli, Australia
Bureau Spectacular, USA
Mesura, Spain
Studio Bark, UK
3andwich Design and He Wei Studio, China
› H&P Architects, Vietnam


Note Design Studio, Sweden


Interior designer of the year

Note Design Studio, Sweden
India Mahdavi, France
› Universal Design Studio, UK
› Linehouse, China
› Rafael de Cárdenas, USA
› Esrawe Studio, Mexico
› i29, Netherlands
› Studio O+A, USA

Biasol, Australia

Emerging interior designer of the year

OHLAB, Spain
Ste Marie, Canada
Studio Edwards, Australia
Design Bitches, USA
Design Haus Liberty, UK
Biasol, Australia
The New Design Project, USA
HAO Design, Taiwan
› Alexander & Co, Australia
Joyce Wang Studio, UK/China
› Atelier Baulier, UK
Arjaan De Feyter, Belgium
Spacon & X, Denmark
› Studio Esteta, Australia
› Tigg Coll Architects, UK
OEO Studio, Denmark

Marije Vogelzang, Netherlands

Designer of the year

Fuseproject, USA
› Benjamin Hubert/Layer, UK
› Marije Vogelzang, Netherlands
› Philippe Malouin, UK
Álvaro Catalán de Ocón, Spain
Atelier NL, Netherlands
Lee Broom, UK
Note Design Studio, Sweden

Sigve Knutson, Norway

Emerging designer of the year

Sigve Knutson, Norway
Rio Kobayashi, UK
Rick Tegelaar, Netherlands
Richard Yasmine, Lebanon
› Pedro Paulo Venzon, Brazil
Slash Objects, USA
Troels Flensted, Denmark
Erez Nevi Pana, Netherlands
› Kaja Solgaard Dahl, Norway
› Christopher Riggio, UK
Fernando Mastrangelo, USA
Kosuke Araki, Japan
Maria Bruun, Denmark
Envisions, Netherlands
Mayice Studio, Spain