Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist announced

The Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist has been announced. Established studios Note Design Studio, Studio Gang and Barber & Osgerby, along with emerging talents Child Studio and Estudio MMX, have all made the shortlist.

In total 33 practices are on the Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist for studio of the year and emerging studio categories.

They are competing for six awards, which will be given to the best established and emerging talents in architecture, interiors and design.

Studio Gang, Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist
Studio Gang is vying to be named architect of the year. Photo is by Steve Hall

Architecture offices that made the shortlist include Vietnamese practice Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Brazilian practice Studio MK27, and Dutch studio Mecanoo.

View all shortlisted studios on the Dezeen Awards website ›

Interior design studios vying for awards include British studio Sevil Peach Architecture and Design, Stockholm-based Note Design Studio and Rafael de Cárdenas of New York.

MGA Michael Green Architecture, Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist
MGA Michael Green Architecture

Designers on the Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist include Amsterdam-based duo Studio Drift, Swedish studio Form Us with Love, and British set-designers Stufish.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of leading designers including Patricia Urquiola, Lonny van Ryswyck and Nadine Sterk of Atelier NL and Ab Rogers.

Child Studio, Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist
Child Studio has been shortlisted in the emerging interior designer of the year category. Photo is by Alexey Kostikov and Chieh Huang

The shortlist was selected from a longlist of 116 studios and designers from all over the world. Studios on this shortlist are from 16 different countries including Finland, Mexico, Switzerland, Vietnam and Brazil.

Scroll down to explore the Dezeen Awards 2019 studio shortlist or view it on the Dezeen Awards website:

Architect of the year

Mecanoo, Delft, Netherlands
ODA New York, New York City, US
Studio Gang, Chicago, US
Studio MK27, São Paulo, Brazil
Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Emerging architect of the year

Edition Office, Melbourne, Australia
Estudio MMX, Mexico City, Mexico
Karamuk Kuo, Zurich, Switzerland
Leong Leong, New York City, US
Mamou-Mani, London, UK
MGA Michael Green Architecture, Vancouver, Canada

Interior designer of the year

Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Matt Gibson, Melbourne, Australia
Note Design Studio, Stockholm, Sweden
Rafael de Cárdenas/Architecture at Large, New York City, US
Sevil Peach, London, UK
TC Plus, Bruges, Belgium

Emerging interior designer of the year

Child Studio, London, UK
Linehouse, Shanghai, China
Odd, Beijing, China
Plantea Estudio, Madrid, Spain
Soho House Design, London, UK
Studio David Thulstrup, Copenhagen, Denmark

Designer of the year

Barber and Osgerby, London, UK
Form us with love, Stockholm, Sweden
Studio Drift, Amsterdam, UK
Stufish, London, UK
Joe Doucet, Brooklyn, US

Emerging designer of the year

Antrei Hartikainen, Fiskars, Finland
Morrama, London, UK
Studio Simone Post, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Takt Project, Tokyo, Japan
Xandra van der Eijk, Utrecht, Netherlands