Dezeen Awards studios shortlist reveals biggest design talents of 2018

We can now reveal the architects and designers competing to be named best established or emerging studios at the Dezeen Awards, including Christ & Gantenbein, Universal Design Studio, Note Design Studio and Atelier NL.

There are 33 studios and individuals shortlisted in the studio categories of Dezeen Awards.

They will compete for six awards, which will be given to the best established and emerging talents in architecture, interiors and design.

Bureau Spectacular is vying to be named emerging architect of the year

Architecture offices that made the shortlist include MAD, Jamie Fobert Architects and Bureau Spectacular, while interior design studios vying for awards include Universal Design Studio, OHLAB and Design, Bitches.

Design studios shortlisted include Fuseproject, Marije Vogelzang, Lee Broom and Envisions.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of leading designers and industry figures, including Amanda Levete, Carlo Ratti, Patrizia Moroso and Camille Walala. They were selected from a longlist of 78 studios and designers.

Mayice Studio is shortlisted in the emerging designer of the year category

All six winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on 27 November. The architecture, interiors and design shortlists have all now been announced.

The studios shortlist is listed below. Click through for more info on each entry:

Architect of the year

› Christ & Gantenbein, Switzerland
› COBE, Denmark
› Eleena Jamil Architect, Malaysia
› Jamie Fobert Architects, UK
› MAD, China

Emerging architect of the year

› Bureau Spectacular, USA
› Lina Ghotmeh — Architecture, France
› Peter Pichler Architecture, Italy
› Raffaello Rosselli, Australia
› Shau, Netherlands/Germany/Indonesia
› The Living, USA

Interior designer of the year

› i29, Netherlands
› India Mahdavi, France
› Note Design Studio, Sweden
› Rafael de Cárdenas, USA
› Universal Design Studio, UK

Emerging interior designer of the year

› Alexander &Co, Australia
› Design, Bitches, USA
› Joyce Wang Studio, China/UK
OHLAB, Spain
› Spacon & X, Denmark
› The New Design Project, USA

Designer of the year

› Álvaro Catalán de Ocón, Spain
› Atelier NL, Netherlands
› Fuseproject, USA
› Lee Broom, UK
Marije Vogelzang, Netherlands

Emerging designer of the year

› Envisions, Netherlands
› Erez Nevi Pana, Netherlands
› Kaja Solgaard Dahl, Norway
› Kosuke Araki, Japan
› Mayice Studio, Spain
Sigve Knutson, Norway