Dezeen Awards 2019 new interiors categories announcement

New interiors categories for Dezeen Awards 2019 include apartments and hotels

Interior designers have five new categories to enter for Dezeen Awards 2019, with new awards covering food and drink interiors, hotels and apartments.

The awards programme celebrates the world's best architecture, interiors and design, as well as the studios and the individual architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

Entries are open until 30 May, with discounted entry fees available until 29 March.

Interior-design categories will be judged by industry-leading figures including Sevil Peach and Kelly Hoppen.

Small workspace interior

Following the success of the workplace category last year, this year we are introducing separate categories for large and small workspaces. Small workspace interior covers any space of less than 1,000 square metres, which could include offices, studios and co-working spaces, as well as more unconventional places of work.

Large workspace interior

The large workspace interior category covers any workspace larger than 1,000 square metres.

Apartment interior

Dezeen Awards 2019 also sees the introduction of an apartment interior category, which can include either an individual apartment, or a series of homes within a larger development.

Restaurant and bar interior

This new category exclusively covers interior designs for spaces where people go to eat or drink. It includes restaurants, bars, cafes, clubs and event venues.

Hotel and short-stay interior

We have introduced a new category for hospitality interior projects, open to projects where people stay short-term for business or leisure. It can inclue hotels, guesthouses or guest rooms.

If you need help with choosing your category or have any questions, get in touch at [email protected] or visit the how to enter page.

Studio categories

The studio categories celebrate a body of work that demonstrates all-round design excellence by an interior designer or studio.

Interior designers in business for more than 10 years can enter Interior Designer of the Year. Emerging Interior Designer of the Year is reserved for studios that have been in business for less than 10 years.

We also have five categories that remain unchanged from last year: house interior, civic and cultural interior, retail interior, small interior, and leisure and wellness interior.

Subscribe to Dezeen Awards newsletters to receive regular news and updates on this year's awards.