Dezeen Awards 2021 second judges announcement

Anouska Hempel to judge Dezeen Awards alongside Olafur Eliasson and Sebastian Behmann

Interior designer Anouska Hempel and collaborators Olafur Eliasson and Sebastian Behmann will be joined by Sri Lankan designer and structural engineer Cecil Balmond and South African architect Sumayya Vally to judge Dezeen Awards 2021.

The five are among the latest 25 judges to be added to this year's star-studded jury, joining Ole Scheeren, Kelly Wearstler, Hanif Kara and Chitra Vishwanath, who were announced as judges last week.

Dezeen Awards 2021 is open for entries until 9 June but if you enter before 31 March you can save 20 per cent on entry fees!

Receiving more than 4,300 entries from all over the world last year, Dezeen Awards has quickly become the benchmark for international design excellence and the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere.

Dezeen Awards 2021 judge Maxwell Mutanda
Top: Cecil Balmond, Sumayya Vally, Sebastian Behmann and Olafur Eliasson, and Anouska Hempel are judges. Above: Maxwell Mutanda is on the architecture panel

Cecil Balmond will judge the architecture categories alongside the founder of Harare-based Studio [D] Tale Maxwell Mutanda, Italian architect Massimiliano Fuksas and Juliane Wolf of Studio Gang.

London-based architect Suzanne Brewer, who was highly commended for her walking wheelchair project at Dezeen Awards 2020, will also judge this year's architecture entries along with Norwegian architect Reiulf Ramstad and Brazilian architect Arthur Casas.

Dezeen Awards 2021 judge Petra Blaisse
Petra Blaisse will be judging interiors categories

They will be joined by fellow architects Lina Ghotmeh, Christina Seilern and Carme Pinos.

Interior designer Anouska Hempel will score this year's interiors categories alongside Dutch designer Petra Blaisse and Australian architect Andrew Burges, who won house interior of the year at Dezeen Awards 2020.

Dezeen Awards 2021 judge Hector Esrawe
Hector Esrawe will be scoring interiors entries

They will be joined by Hector Esrawe, whose studio was named interior design studio of the year at Dezeen Awards 2020 and Rosie Morley of Fender Katsalidis.

Dagmar Štěpánová of Formafatal, who won emerging interior design studio of the year at Dezeen Awards 2020, will sit with London-based interior designers Sophie Ashby and Fiona Blanchot to determine the interiors shortlist later this year.

Dezeen Awards 2021 judge Karim Rashid
New York-based Karim Rashid will be judging the design categories

Artist Olafur Eliasson and architect Sebastian Behmann will judge the design categories with industrial designer Karim Rashid along with Sumayya Vally, who was recently named as one of Time magazine's leaders of the future.

They will be joined by founders of Kenyan Studio Propolis Naeem Biviji and Bethan Rayner, South Korean designer Kwangho Lee as well as Mark Eley and Wakako Kishimoto of UK-based studio Eley Kishimoto.

Naeem Biviji and Bethan Rayner will be judging design entries

Dutch designer Richard Hutten will also be on the design jury alongside Kim Colin of Industrial Facility.

We'll be announcing the final set of 2021 judges to complete the panel of 75 industry-leading professionals soon, so keep your eyes peeled!

To enter Dezeen Awards now, visit

You can sign up to our newsletter to stay up to date with all awards-related news at