Dezeen Awards 2023 logo

Five days left to enter Dezeen Awards 2021

Five days left to enter Dezeen Awards 2021

Entries for Dezeen Awards 2021 close in five days! To help you prepare your entry and submit it before midnight BST on 2 June, we’ve put together some answers to five key questions:

1. What is Dezeen Awards?

Dezeen Awards is our annual awards programme. It identifies the world's best architecture, interiors and design, as well as the studios and the individual architects and designers producing the most outstanding work. Dezeen Awards is the ultimate accolade for architects and designers around the world.

2. How do I enter?

To enter Dezeen Awards 2021, create an account or sign in here. You can then enter as many categories as you like by completing the entry form for each category entry. Read more on our how to enter page.

3. What are the categories?

This year we have more categories than ever, appealing to a wide range of studios and individual creatives. There are 47 categories that you can enter in total, across architecture, interiors, design, sustainability and media. See the full list here.

The sustainability categories are brand new. Sponsored by Dodds and Shute, these awards will go to projects that strive to reduce their impact on people and the planet.

Also new this year are the media categories. Introduced in a year where much of the design world has turned digital, the media categories will reward excellence in the way architecture, interiors and design are communicated and promoted.

You can also enter your studio into our studio awards, which highlight the architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

Enter STUDIO50 at the payment stage to receive a 50 per cent discount on your studio award entry.

4. Who are the judges?

Judging this year's programme is a panel of 75 industry-leading professionals across architecture, design, journalism, and curation as well as experts in the fields of sustainability and media for our newly introduced categories.

The star-studded panel includes Rafael Viñoly, Olafur Eliasson and Sebastian Behmann, Kelly Wearstler, Ricardo Scofidio and Cecil Balmond, as well as Katie Treggiden and Gary Huswit who are heading up the sustainability and media panels.

5. What are the entry criteria?

Dezeen Awards is unique in having three key judging criteria that we believe should be integral to all design projects:

Beautiful: does it look amazing? We know that beauty is subjective, but our judges will be looking out for aesthetic rigour, attention to detail, and good use of materials.

Innovative: does it incorporate original thinking or address a problem in a new way? We don't mean that every entry has to reinvent the wheel, but we will be looking for evidence of fresh approaches and new ideas.

Beneficial: is it useful and considerate to both people and planet? Your project doesn't have to set out to save the world but it should show respect and consideration for both users and the environment.

Enter Dezeen Awards 2021 now

If you need more answers, drop us a line at [email protected]. You have until midnight BST on 2 June, enter now!