Dezeen Awards 2019 new sustainable design categories announcement

New Dezeen Awards 2019 categories include sustainable design, graphic design and installation design

Dezeen Awards has introduced five new design categories for 2019, including one that will honour the best sustainable design project of the year.

This year's expanded awards programme, which is open for entries, features 10 design categories, with awards for new categories such as graphic design, installation design and seating design.

The sustainable design category is part of Dezeen Awards' ambition to celebrate work that is good for the planet.

Judging criteria calls on judges to score projects according to how beautiful, innovative and beneficial they are for both people and the environment.

A panel of 75 stellar judges that includes Winy Maas, Patricia Urquiola and Yves Behar will choose the winners of Dezeen Awards 2019.

Sustainable design

This new category is open to any product designed with sustainability in mind. This includes products made from recycled materials, vegan design, design that uses innovative new materials, sustainable fashion, reduced-waste design, wind turbines, ecological packaging and sustainable initiatives and services.

Seating design

A new design category focused on seating, separated from the general furniture category, has been introduced due to the incredibly high number of chairs, sofas and other seats entered for last year's awards. This category is open to any item or collection of seating for indoors or outdoors, excluding office chairs.

Graphic design

Dezeen Awards 2019 also sees the introduction of a graphic design category. This is for any visual communication design, including typography and illustration.

Installation design

This new category is for both temporary and permanent installations. It is open to any installation project for an interior or exterior space. This includes exhibition design, set design, fashion shows, art and design installations, and light installations.

Studio categories

Designers can also enter either the Designer of the Year, or the Emerging Designer of the Year categories, as well as the categories that remain unchanged from last year: furniture, lighting, workplace, wearable and product.

See all our architecture, interiors and design categories here and start work on your entry by creating an account here.

Enter before 29 March to save 25 per cent on entry fees. The final deadline is 30 May 2019.

To get regular updates about Dezeen Awards, subscribe to our newsletter.