Filmmaker Gary Hustwit to be head judge for Dezeen Awards media categories

Filmmaker and visual designer Gary Hustwit will head up the judging panel for the new Dezeen Awards media categories.

Hustwit will oversee the judging of the five new categories, which will reward photography, video, visualisations and websites across the industry.

"Social media and websites are the main way we're experiencing [architecture and design] now," explained Hustwit. "If there's a new building somewhere, the reality is that only a tiny amount of people will actually get to visit," he added.

So how a building or interior design is represented in photography and video is almost more important than the in real-life experience."

Top: Gary Hustwit is a Dezeen Awards judge. Above: Dezeen Awards 2021 introduces media categories

Hustwit has produced 13 feature documentaries including a documentary about German industrial designer Dieter Rams and a feature film about the Helvetica font.

In addition, he has had film and photographic work featured in exhibitions at the Museum of Modern Art New York, the Smithsonian Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum, the Design Museum in London and Storefront for Art and Architecture in New York, among others.

Ten media awards judges

Hustwit will head a panel of ten judges for the categories. Other judges include Dezeen head of video Oliver Manzi, Swiss designer Micha Weidmann, architect Charlotte Skene Catling, photographer Fernando Guerra and Swedish photographer Jeanette Hägglund. They will also be joined by architect and director Liam Young, media consultant Justyna Green, British writer and curator Priya Khanchandani, and director Karin Fong.

"I just love looking at all this stuff," said Hustwit when enthusing about being a judge.

"I generally gravitate toward strong, innovative concepts. The underlying idea is what's important to me, rather than the execution or budget," he added.

New media categories

The judges will be looking for beautiful, engaging content and technical mastery across the five categories.

Architecture photograph of the year 

Any photograph focusing on architecture including exterior or interior images.

Architecture video of the year 

Any video or short film featuring architecture (maximum length: twenty minutes). Animations and computer-generated submissions are welcome.

Visualisation of the year 

Any visualisation or render of an architecture, interiors or design. Entries can include images of unbuilt or imagined projects.

Website of the year (architecture, interiors, design) 

Websites for architecture, interiors or design studios that showcase the studio's work and ethos in the most effective, compelling and clear way.

Website of the year (brands) 

Websites by brands and service providers in the architecture and design sector that showcase the company's products in the most effective, compelling and clear way. Entries can include sites that include e-commerce solutions.

Enter Dezeen Awards 2021 now

Enter Dezeen Awards 2021 before 31 March to save 20 per cent! Click here to start work on your submission.

Besides the media categories, there are three new sustainability categories, 33 project categories as well as six categories for the best studios. See all the categories here.

For more details, visit our how to enter page. You can also subscribe to our newsletters to receive regular updates on Dezeen Awards 2021.