Hélène Chartier, John Maeda and Llisa Demetrios announced as Dezeen Awards 2024 judges

Urbanist Hélène Chartier, technologist John Maeda, curator Llisa Demetrios, architect Laura Narayansingh and designer Adebayo Oke-Lawal have been named Dezeen Awards 2024 judges.

Dezeen Awards 2024 in partnership with Bentley is open for entries. Submit your entry by 23:59 London time on 30 May to avoid late entry fees.

Now in its seventh year, the programme has become the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere, with winners selected by a prestigious panel of international judges.

Read on to learn more about the latest judges that have joined this year's panel:

Hélène Chartier is an expert in sustainable urbanism

Chartier is the director of urban planning and design at C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group and will be joining our sustainability jury.

She works to accelerate sustainable and resilient urban planning policies and design practices in cities globally.

Chartier leads C40's Green and Thriving Neighbourhoods programme to turn the 15-minute city concept into reality. She also manages Reinventing Cities, a series of competitions engaging with businesses, academics and youth to deliver decarbonised and resilient urban regeneration projects around the world.

Speaking with Dezeen recently, she claimed the importance of protecting cities from climate risks has been 'totally underrated'.

John Maeda is vice president of design and artificial intelligence at Microsoft

American technologist Maeda is the vice president of design and artificial intelligence at Microsoft and will be joining designer Jomo Tariku on this year's design panel.

Maeda has received a White House National Design Award for algorithm-generated visualisations informed by artificial intelligence, alongside other significant awards including Esquire 75 Most Influential of the 21st Century.

He is the author of five books including How To Speak Machine, in which he defines the fundamental laws of how computers think and why we should care, and technology bestseller Laws of Simplicity, which aims to teach us to need less and get more.

Llisa Demetrios is chief curator of the Eames Institute

Demetrios is chief curator of California-based educational non-profit Eames Institute of Infinite Curiosity and will sit on the design judging panel.

The aim of the institute is to teach the lessons of her grandparents, designers Charles and Ray Eames, enabling individuals to solve problems through design.

Demetrios recently led the opening of its new headquarters and gallery space in Richmond, California.

The institute's rebranding by design studio Manual was longlisted in Dezeen Awards 2023.

Laura Narayansingh leads ACLA Architecture from her home in Trinidad and Tobago

Narayansingh is a director at Trinidadian-based ACLA Architecture and will be joining Aedas' founder Keith Griffiths on this year's architecture jury.

She has worked on a variety of commercial, residential and hospitality projects, from renovations of colonial architecture to large commercial fit-outs.

In 2019, she received an honourable mention for Most Promising Young Architect from the Trinidad and Tobago Institute of Architects.

Narayansingh recently completed Bush House, her own colonial-informed family home on the Caribbean island.

Adebayo Oke-Lawal founded Orange Culture in 2011

Nigerian designer Oke-Lawal is the founder and creative director of fashion house Orange Culture and will sit on our sustainability panel.

Since launching in 2011, Orange Culture has been featured in significant publications including Vogue, New York Times, ELLE and The Guardian, among others.

Orange culture has also been featured in two major showings at the Victoria and Albert Museum for its impact on androgynous and African fashion, as well as in numerous museums worldwide. Oke-Lawal was recently inducted into the Business of Fashion 500 impact players in the global fashion industry.

Enter by 30 May

Dezeen Awards 2024 is open for entries. Log in or create an account to start your entries. Enter by 23:59 London time on 30 May to avoid late entry fees.

Click here for more information about Dezeen Awards and subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news. Plus you can always drop us a line at [email protected] if you have any questions.

Dezeen Awards 2024 in partnership with Bentley

Dezeen Awards is the ultimate accolade for architects and designers across the globe. The seventh edition of the annual awards programme is in partnership with Bentley as part of a wider collaboration to inspire, support and champion design excellence and showcase innovation that creates a better and more sustainable world. This ambition complements Bentley's architecture and design business initiatives, including the Bentley Home range of furnishings and real estate projects around the world.