Competition: win a book documenting 20 years of RIBA Stirling Prize winners

Competition: Dezeen has teamed up with Merrell Publishers to give away five copies of a book profiling each of the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlisted and winning projects (+ slideshow)

Congratulations to the winners! Rohan Kempadoo, Jessica Nieri, André Almeida, Raimon Pujol Veciana and Tracy Forrest.

RIBA Stirling Prize 20
The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 profiles every shortlisted and winning building throughout the competition's first 20 years

The Stirling Prize is awarded by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) in recognition of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

RIBA Stirling Prize 20
It is written by Tony Chapman and includes The Shard by Renzo Piano. Photograph by Michel Denancé

The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 book features every shortlisted and winning building from the competition's first 20 years.

It is written by the RIBA's former head of awards Tony Chapman and features an introduction by Sir David Chipperfield, who was awarded the prize in 2007 for his Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach, Germany.

RIBA Stirling Prize 20
Zaha Hadid Architects' MAXXI National Museum of Art in Rome, which won the award in 2010, will also feature. Photograph by Iwan Baan

Other projects included in the book are the Media Centre at Lord's Cricket Ground by Future Systems, Zaha Hadid Architects' MAXXI National Museum of Art in Rome, Herzog & de Meuron's Laban Dance Centre in Deptford and the 2015 prize-winning Burntwood School by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris.

Burntwood School, Wandsworth by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
The buildings, like the Burntwood School by Allford Hall Monaghan Morri, are recognised by the award for their contribution to British architecture

Detailed passages explain how each winning building was planned and constructed, and reveal the jury's comments.

Commentaries are also provided for the shortlisted buildings from 2006 to 2015, including Foster + Partners' Gherkin skyscraper, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge by Wilkinson Eyre Architects and the 2012 London Olympic Stadium by Populous.

Other projects documented include the 2012 London Olympic Stadium by Populous

Five winners will receive one copy of The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20. The book, which is published by Merrell Publishers in association with the RIBA, will be released on 6 October 2016 and retail at £40.

Gateshead Bridge by Wilkinson Eyre
As well as 2002 winner The Gateshead Millennium Bridge by Wilkinson Eyre Architects

There are six projects vying for the Stirling Prize 2016, which will be announced on Thursday, 6 October 2016. Among the shortlist is Damien Hirst's London gallery, an Oxford university building by Herzog & de Meuron and a forest home for a pair of artists.

This competition is closed. Five winners will be selected at random and notified by email, and their names will be published at the top of this page. Dezeen competitions are international and entries are accepted from readers in any country.