2020 RIBA International Prize jury
Jeanne Gang is on the 2020 jury. Photo by Saverio Truglia

2020 RIBA International Prize grand jury announced

Studio Gang founder Jeanne Gang and Rossana Hu, co-founder of Neri&Hu, have joined jury chair Odile Decq on the grand jury of the 2020 RIBA International Prize.

Gustavo Utrabo, who won the 2018 RIBA International Prize and Emerging Architect Prize, is also on the jury for the awards programme, for which Dezeen is a media partner.

Artist and set designer Es Devlin joins the jury as the lay jury member.

2020 RIBA International Prize jury
Chinese architect Rossana Hu is also on the jury. Photo by Thierry Coulon

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) launched the biannual International Awards in 2015.

The RIBA International Prize itself goes to the building that the jury deems the most outstanding new building in the world. Buildings must demonstrate innovative design, use sustainable technologies, and deliver real social impact.

The RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize is awarded to an architect who has been practicing for up to only 10 years but has already made an impact on the profession or could be considered a pioneer for the industry's future.

2020 RIBA International Prize jury
French architect Odile Decq is jury chair. Photo by Franck Juery

There are also 20 RIBA International Awards for Excellence, for buildings around the world that are considered to have pushed the boundaries of architecture.

"We are delighted to have brought together an impressive collective to form the 2020 RIBA International Prize Grand Jury, chaired by the inimitable Odile Decq, and look forward to seeing which building they choose as the world's best," said RIBA president Alan Jones.

2020 RIBA International Prize jury
British artist Es Devlin is the 2020 jury's lay member. Photo by Jasper Clarke

"The RIBA International Prize has an incredibly important focus – to discover the best architecture for a better life," added Decq, a French architect and urban planner.

"I look forward to travelling the world to find a worthy winner," she continued.

In 2018 the prize went to Children's Village, a school facility in the Brazilian rainforest by Aleph Zero and Brazilian practice Rosenbaum.

Jury member Utrabo was a founding partner of Aleph Zero and now runs his own practice, Estúdio Gustavo Utrabo.

2018 winner architect Gustavo Utrabo joins the 2020 jury

In 2016, the first year the prize was awarded, it went to Grafton Architects for their university campus in Peru.

The prize programme replaced the RIBA's Lubetkin Prize, which ran for 13 years and recognised the best new building outside of the EU.

Entries for the 2020 RIBA International Prize are open until 31 October 2019.