Viettel Offsite Studio by Vo Trong Nghia VTN Architects

Dezeen Awards architecture, interiors and design studios of the year revealed

Vo Trong Nghia Architects, SevilPeach and Studio Drift have been named best architecture, interiors and design studios of the year at Dezeen Awards 2019.

The winning studios were revealed at the Dezeen Awards party held at Ennismore Sessions House in London, which was attended by 250 guests.

The three winners, chosen from 16 shortlisted studios, are based in Vietnam, the UK and the Netherlands.

They were chosen by this year's master juries, which met in London in September. They made their selections based on business success, client satisfaction, positive impact, and strong vision and achievement.

Viettel Academy Education Centre by Vo Trang Nghia Architects
Viettel Academy Education Centre was designed by Vo Trong Nghia Architects, winner of the architecture studio of the year. Top image: Vo Trong Nghia Architects also designed an office for Viettel

Vietnamese studio Vo Trong Nghia was named architect of the year by the architecture master jury, which consisted of Sou Fujimoto, Lyndon Neri, Kunlé Adeyemi, Sonali Rastogi and Jing Liu.

"The studio has an acute awareness of the context that it is working in," the jury said. "Vietnam's past is very much present in the work but it also recognises the modernity of the country."

"Vo Trong Nghia's projects signify a transition from old to new," added the judges. "The studio has developed its own school of thought and its own techniques."

The studio, which has offices in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City, also won the award for civic building of the year with Viettel Academy.

Artek HQ by Sevil Peach
SevilPeach, which is the interior designer of the year, designed the Artek HQ

London-based studio SevilPeach was selected as interior designer of the year. The jury championed interior design studio SevilPeach's work for being "intelligent and skilfully put together".

"SevilPeach designs peaceful, calming spaces that appear effortless," explained the judges. "Its animated interiors play with light, acoustics and moments of colour."

LocHal Public Library, designed by Civic Architects
Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse, which designed the LocHal library, was highly commended in the interior studio of the year category

The interiors master jury, which consisted of Eva Jiricna, Eero Koivisto, Matali Crasset, Ab Rogers and Yoko Choy, also highly commended Dutch studio Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse for its "transformative interventions".

"Inside Outside/Petra Blaisse has an extraordinary knowledge of the interior and understanding of light," the judges explained. "Its innovative work has a meaningful tactile nature."

Studio Drift Kennedy Space Centre moon landing drones
Studio Drift, which designed Franchise Freedom at Kennedy Space Centre, is the design studio of the year

The design jury, which consisted of Philippe Starck, Nelly Ben Hayoun, Yinka Ilori, Aric Chen, Lonny van Ryswyck and Sofia Lagerkvist, named Studio Drift as designer of the year.

"Studio Drift has consistently produced good work over the last two years," said the judges.

"They have successfully accomplished a lot of ambitious projects that explore the relationship between nature and technology, as well as our relationship with technology."

The Amsterdam studio also won the lighting design category with their Franchise Freedom installation.

Each winner was presented with a hand-made trophy designed by Atelier NL. All the category winners were announced earlier this year.